a cat doing a yoga stretch and text that says welcome to ompractice

Beginner Basics: Classes at Ompractice

Welcome to a new blog series on Ompractice, where we break down some of the basics of being a beginner here! Starting anything new can feel daunting, and we want you to feel welcome, confident, and inspired! We’ll be chatting about what to wear to class, setting up your space, how to feel confident as a beginner, yoga and mindful movement “lingo”, two-way-video class norms, and more. Have a question for us? Send us a note at info@ompractice.com. We’ll answer it in an upcoming post!

Classes at Ompractice

At Ompractice, we offer almost 100 classes weekly so you can choose something that feels right for you. Classes range from yoga, to Tai Chi, to Pilates, to meditation and more. If you’re just getting started in mindful movement, have no fear! There are lots of class options for you and you certainly don’t have to be flexible to jump right in.

Why Mindful Movement? Ompractice is not just about yoga – many of our students are here specifically for the benefits of building this kind of practice: stress relief, reducing symptoms of anxiety and depression, pain relief, improving strength and flexibility and aging vitally. We know that this kind of practice helps – our job is to help you make it a habit and fit into your busy life!

Jumping in with no yoga experience: that’s the point! Many, if not most, of our classes are suitable to jump right in – we started Ompractice to support complete beginners – and people who probably wouldn’t be taking their mat to a yoga studio. We have a range of classes that are designed to be accessible to anyone who wants to try them. 

Deciding on the right path for you: no matter if you are interested in yoga, or mobility and flexibility classes, we typically recommend that you try a range of classes out to start to find the teachers and styles that most resonate with you. 

How Often Do I Need to Practice? 

How often should you do yoga as a beginner? How often should you meditate to see results?

Need more insight on where to start? Most people find the best outcomes come from 1-3 classes per week! Here’s how they do it:

  1. Choose one weekly movement-based class as your go-to recurring class (RECOMMENDED). This is one you can reliably take every week over time to see progress. This can include our beginner yoga classes, Tai Chi classes, Yoga Therapy, or gentle or restorative classes. (But choose whatever you’d like!) 
  1. Add one variety class (RECOMMENDED). This is a chance to try something new. Consider a short class such as Yoga for Tight Shoulders & Neck, or something totally different, like: Pure Sound to Ground – A Meditation & Sound Bowl Experience, or Peaceful Flow – Deep Stretch & Deep Relaxation.
  1. Get in some guided meditation or breathwork whenever you can to supplement. These can be taken seated or lying down.

Taken yoga before? Typically we see students who have practiced before on our platform may be taking 3 classes a week. Most people find the best outcomes for themselves by practicing 1-3 times per week! There is no max – there are a handful of folks on our platform taking a class almost every day! (That said, when getting started with a program, more is not always better! Once a week for someone new to practice is a great goal!)

Your First Classes on Ompractice: 

What should be my first yoga class be? Where do I start with Tai Chi? Need a little more insight? Here are some classes that are a great FIRST class to try on Ompractice. (Click the link on the class date and time to learn more about each).

Quick hitters:

Something that just hits different: 

  • Living Your Dharma – A Phoenix Rising Yoga and Meditation Class with Michael Lee (60 min) on Mondays at 5:30pm ET / 2:30pm PT
    • A fan favorite! This slow moving, therapeutic yoga practice beginning with a focus on the physical body and progressing toward inward contemplation, combined with meditation and guidance to bring more wisdom, clarity, tranquility, and contentment to life.
  • Peaceful Flow – Deep Stretch & Deep Relaxation with Reggie Hubbard (60 min) on Fridays at 7:00pm ET / 4:00pm PT
    • Wind down with this gentle, restful class that combines deeply restorative poses with breathwork and meditation to maximize relaxation.

Meditation, Mindfulness and Breathwork:

  • Breathwork with Eric Brown (30 min) on Mondays at 7:15pm ET / 4:15pm PT, Tuesdays at 7am ET / 4am PT, Wednesdays at 7:45pm ET / 4:45pm PT and Thursdays at 7am ET / 4am PT
    • Practiced fully seated and with little movement, this class offers conscious, controlled breathing techniques practiced for relaxation, meditation, or therapeutic purposes.
  • Pure Sound to Ground – A Meditation & Sound Bowl Experience with Reggie Hubbard (45 min) on Thursdays at 9am ET / 6am PT and Saturdays at 12:15pm ET / 9:15am PT
    • You’re in for a treat with this sound meditation practice using singing bowls and breathwork – also practiced fully seated and with little movement.
  • iRest Yoga Nidra with Annie Okerlin (60 min) on Thursdays at 6:30pm ET / 3:30pm PT
    • This deep meditation is intended to help with stress, mental health, and pain by resetting the nervous system and can be done seated or lying down.
  • Intro to Meditation with Dominic Stanley (30 min) on Thursdays at 8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT – if you are looking to dive into meditation.
    • New to meditation? This class is for you! This is a perfect starting point for anyone who is new to yoga, providing you with a safe space to get comfortable on your mat, while you explore basic poses essential to the practice, alignment and breathing cues, and have your questions answered.

Tai Chi and Qigong

  • Qigong with Gurney Bolster (50 min) on Mondays at 12pm ET / 9am PT and Tuesdays at 6:30pm ET / 3:30 pm PT
    • This form of traditional Chinese mind/body exercises and meditation can be done standing or seated. It incorporates precise body movements and controlled breathing to improve balance, flexibility, muscle strength, and overall health.
  • Tai Chi for Health & Wellness with Sharif Zyhier (60 min) on Sundays at 9:30am ET / 6:30 am PT
    • This ancient Chinese discipline known as meditation in motion is characterized by methodically slow, continuous, and circular movements that can be done standing or seated, designed to stretch the body, promote balance, and reduce stress.

Beginner-Friendly Movement Options:

  • Beginner Yoga with Chanel Sledge (50 min) on Mondays at 5:30pm ET / 2:30pm PT and Saturdays at 8am ET / 5am PT
    • Check out this fun flowing class while you get back to the basics and focus on a deeper dive into proper alignment while developing strength, balance, and flexibility.
  • Mind & Align with Brianna Rhea (60 min) on Saturdays at 9:30am ET / 6:30am PT
    • This class starts with a short meditation followed by a mindful flowing style of yoga linking movement to breath.
  • Beginner Hatha with Hania Banc (60 min) on Saturdays at 10:30am ET / 7:30am PT
    • Enjoy a restful, calming class including breathing, gentle flowing movements, and focus on alignment of poses.
  • Peace Flow – Active Practice with Reggie Hubbard (60 min) on Saturdays at 11am ET / 8am PT
    • Here’s another great slower moving option focused on gentle, flowing movements, alignment and breath, combined with breathwork and light meditation to help you feel more calm and balanced.

For those who are comfortable with some yoga already: 

  • AcuYin with Nadja Villegas (60 min) on Mondays at 1:30pm ET / 10:30am PT
    • This unique class offers seated and supine poses typically held for 3 to 5 minutes each targeting acupressure points using yoga therapy balls to release tension deep in the tissues of the body.
  • Vinyasa Yoga Express with Chanel Sledge (25 min) on Mondays at 6:30am ET, Tuesdays at 6:30am ET and Thursdays at 6:30am ET
    • Jump start your day with our popular 30 minute energetic, flow class linking movement to breath – and also guaranteed to put a smile on your face!
  • Yoga Unwind: Yang to Yin with Niki Saccareccia (60 min) on Mondays at 8pm ET / 5pm PT
    • Start off with gentle, flowing movements, and a focus on alignment and breath, to initially build heat, followed by longer held poses to deeply unwind and access deeper layers of the body.
  • Yin Yoga with Yasmene Mumby (60 min) on Tuesdays at 8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT
    • This is a more advanced class with long, slow, passive holds (3-5 minutes per pose), but great if you’ve done yoga before – and super for accessing and releasing deep, tight spots in the body.
  • Restorative Yoga with Prema Posner (60 min) on Thursdays at 8:00pm ET / 5:00pm PT
    • A great gentle, restful class involves long, passive holds with the support of props such as folded blankets and bolsters to achieve deep relaxation.

Looking for Something Else?

We have a lot to choose from – you can click directly into each class on the Ompractice schedule to learn more about the class, what kind of vibes, props you may need (although all of our teachers are happy to make suggestions based on what you have in the house), and about your teachers.

Want a Personal Recommendation?

We do that too! Feel free to drop a note in the chat, or email us at info@ompractice.com and we’re happy to help you build your schedule!